The Strategy Of a Woman Who Knows What She Wants

by riskingtruth

Well I contacted the manager of Company X and told her, in a very classy and professional way (if I do say so myself), that I’ve been stocking her company. Or, at least that’s what it would be called if all the research I’d done was about a single person. This manager was very pleased with what I had to say and wants to meet up with me in the beginning of June while she’s in town, then she wants to move me through a formal interview process with the higher ups toward the end of June. All great, except that I have to wait ANOTHER month before our first meeting, and then ANOTHER 3 weeks after that until I meet with the higher ups, at which time I hope to be given an offer.

This past month of waiting hasn’t been that hard because I’ve spent the time in what I would consider a very productive way. I studied every piece of literature and every film produced by this company, so that I would be prepared, not only for a second interview, but for when I get hired. I figure it will take the edge off the steep learning curve I will be thrown into. You see, I am acting in a way that assumes I will be hired if I do everything I possibly can on my end. I am willing this job into existence. Or at least, that’s what I’m telling myself. In the very least, it keeps my anxiety at bay, having something productive to do.

With another month to go before the next meeting, and everything having been studied, I was at a loss as to what else I could do to better my chances and keep my mind occupied until our next meeting. Just waiting felt like it would allow me to get stale, and somehow weaken the momentum I’ve laid out in the universe that’s pushing me into this position. What to do?

Well it came to me while I was soaking in the bath, as (with the exception of laying in bed at night) all good ideas do. The next thing I need to study, is me. My experiences, stories, and concrete details, like how much of a commission rate I was earning at such and such company. Having not been in the workplace for over a year (due to the baby), I have forgotten a lot of this information. Add to this the fact that my resume is “embellished” to expand my experience, and there is a serious deficiency. I can’t believe I didn’t think of this before. This could have been an epic fail!

I decided to treat my resume like a script containing the character I want the company to see me as. I will analyze it. Create a series of background stories (based on real events, mine or otherwise) to represent different circumstances. Research and memorize all the accounts that were in my territory, as well as the names of key people who work there. Research and remember all the products I have represented. And have all my numbers straight. That way, there is never a moment while being interviewed that I am stumped. Where my “embellishments” will seem embellished, or my intelligence be brought into question. I will play this roll like an academy award winning actress. Why? Because I know I can do this job, and getting in the door is all I need. Once in, I can implement my plan to become the best rep in the company within 5 years, and prove that I am amazing.

This is a completely different mentality than I’ve ever had before in my life. I’ve always wanted big things before, but until now, I’ve never been willing to do what it takes to have those big things. This research is going to require a lot of time and energy. It will be something I will have to put some serious thought into. But it could very well be the difference between stepping into my dreams, or sitting on the couch wishing they would happen.

I AM going to get this job, and I AM going to have what I want. I don’t say that in a spoiled way, like a little girl stomping her foot, but in a tone wrought with conviction and drive. I have decided to live a life on purpose, and this is the first step. I have to believe that anything is possible if I am willing to do what it takes to get it. And I am doing what it takes.

…RiskingTruth

 

 

